Reviews

Ruckus (Sinners of Saint, #2)

RuckusTeaser3

Title: Ruckus (Sinners of Saint, #2)
by: L.J. Shen
Released: May 23, 2017

***PDL’s Rating: 4.5 ‘Ruckus’ Punches’ (Really Liked)

It’s a HOTHOLE book, you already know and if you don’t let me tell you – you cannot go wrong! Dean, my misunderstood man WILL be understood in his story. All you doubters out there, all I have to say is having faith in your authors go a long way for you as a reader. LJ Shen knocked it out of the ballpark and Dean is as lovable as any of the previous HotHoles. I knew I will love Dean from the beginning but after reading Ruckus I not only love him, I FUCKING LOVE HIM!

Ruckus was not only hot as already expected but it has its tender moments. I mean there was a part of Ruckus that made my heart ache and that was totally unexpected for me. Trust me, for those that had hard feelings for Dean from previous releases, give Ruckus a chance. Seriously, if you didn’t like Dean from Vicious – I can confidently say you did not interpret the situation properly because you were bias because of Vicious, the lovable asshole himself. Don’t judge a book before you even read it, cause you can totally count on me judging YOU for being unreasonable!!

Dean and Rosie – they are fucking FABULOSO!!!

Love Me in the Dark

PicsArt_05-08-01.55.34
Title: Love Me in the Dark
Author: Mia Asher
Released: May 10, 2017

***PDL’s Rating: 5 ‘Now. Tomorrow. Forever.’ Punches (Loved)***

Love Me in the Dark is one of the most romantic book I have read in a long time. It is beautifully written, and the author’s words draw you in and make you feel so much, at times… too much. She somehow manages to make you love so hard while simultaneously detest just as much. How is that for character development? I mean seriously – I cannot say much because I truly feel the less you know the better going into a read like this. Mia Asher has officially become my one-click author.

If falling in love with how words are woven is your kind of thing (like me), sometimes even more than the story-line itself. Then I have news for you, Love Me in the Dark is a double-whammy! This book from cover to cover consists of heart-numbing words and a story that will stay in your heart for a long time.

Revelry

Revelry Teaser 1-01

Title: Revelry
Author: Kandi Steiner
Release Date: April 20, 2017

***PDL’s Rating: 4 ‘Rev’ Punches (Liked)***

Revelry was beautifully written and the author definitely drew me in on how she made a typical plot interesting to keep the readers engaged throughout the story. I am almost positive married/attached women everywhere can relate to Wren’s character to some degree. It sure as hell made me sit back and think about my life decisions as an individual and as someone’s other half.

Revelry is a heart-warming second chance romance where love is discovered when least expected. It highlights the changes in life and how we as individuals choose to take it into stride. How incredibly right something is to a person and may be the complete opposite over time. How we see ourselves as a person and how other perceives us. It embraces the need over want to truly fulfill you as a whole. Well, at least it did all that for me anyway – LOL.

Overall, I completely enjoyed this gem.

Harmful Rush, Remedy #3

Harmful Rush

Title: Harmful Rush
Author: Debra Doxer
Release: April 19, 2017

***PDL’s Rating: 5 ‘Sky High’ Punches (Loved)***

I didn’t even realize Harmful Rush was a paranormal until I started it and I am so glad I did. I read pretty much all genres but I have to admit this is only my 2nd read of this genre. No feeling of time wasted if you were wondering. I loved everything about this book. The way the author has written it, I didn’t feel as if the genre took over… I felt more like it was the characters’ “job,” as in ours – it doesn’t necessary define you as a person given what you do for a living. Hope this makes sense.

Also it’s a YA, and I LOVE what the author did to it. Harmful Rush was a breath of fresh air when compared with all other YA I have read lately that has been saturated with the same story line. This beauty was able to get the same messages YA tends to give but with a better delivery, in my honest opinion and not have its readers feel like we are reading the same plots and lessons over and over again.

Harmful Rush has just enough drama, a splash of PNR and the perfect amount of romance that keeps your heart pumping.

After reading Harmful Rush, I discovered it was book #3 in the Remedy series – fear not, it can completely be read as a standalone but if you are anything like me you will be extremely curious about the first two books. You can definitely count on me to backtrack because I truly, truly enjoyed this world I stepped into. Hope you all give it a chance!!! It truly is an awesome read.

Damnable Grace, Hades Hangmen #5

IMG_2769

Title: Damnable Grace, Hades Hangmen #5
Author: Tillie Cole
Release Date: April 17, 2017

***PDL’s Rating: 5 ‘Angel Eyes’ Punches (Loved)***

Shit, I am kind of speechless right now. Just when you think it cannot get worse… it totally fucking DOES!

Damnable Grace got to me on so many levels. I literally found myself cringing so many times as I was reading but I couldn’t stop. It was like passing by a horrific car accident and you know not to look but find yourself craning your neck to see but with your eyes closed of course – makes plenty of sense, right?! I know you get me – LOL.

As I went in I am fully aware that these two characters are broken, but clearly I underestimated the depths of it. You know when you read you are aware and anticipating what may be the underlying reason that could be the root cause of the characters self-destruction and hope that the author didn’t take you to that point and reveal something that you find yourself going… “That’s it?!” Well, let me tell you – whatever you may think, the author proves you wrong because she manages to make it a million times worse than your mind or heart may be able to handle.

Fuck – I have to say, in my honest opinion Damnable Grace may have gotten under my skin the most. From heart-warming to gut-wrenching, you will feel it all. As you think evil can only go so far, well you are wrong. The author succeeded in taking evil to a level you cannot wrap your head around. Your heartstrings will be tugged in so many different ways and believe me when I say your heart and soul will be wrapped up in every single word that is poured into this story even if you find yourself recoiling all the while absorbing each drop in hope there is light at the end.

Throne of Truth (Truth & Lies, #2)

tot-teaser5

Throne of Truth (Truth & Lies, #2)
by: Pepper Winters
Release Date: February 28, 2017

*** PDL’s Rating: 4.5 ‘Truths’ Punches ***

I am going to keep Throne of Truth’s review pretty short to not spoil not only the concluding book to Penn and Elle’s story but to avoid the risk of unintentionally ruining Crown of Lies as well.

Throne of Truth picked up right where Crown of Lies left off… THANK GOODNESS for that! Questions were answered and all our concerns and the anxiety that Crown of Lies left us with were soothed by Throne of Truth. For those that had mixed emotions for Penn in book #1, let me ease your heart and mind – Throne of Truth allowed us to see through Penn’s eyes and feel with his heart and it will wash all your doubts away.

He was an angel and monster in one.

I personally felt that Crown of Lies was fast-paced, gritty and gripping; whereas, Throne of Truth was an angsty slow-burn that fills your heart and ends up completing you.

Thieves can become saints. Saints can become thieves. Most of us deserve a second chance.

Once again, Pepper Winters does no wrong on how she delivers dark romance. I am excited to see what she will have lined up next.

SKIN (A 44 Chapters Novel, #2)

picsart_02-08-11-23-43

Skin (A 44 Chapters Novel, #2)
by: BB Easton
Release Date: February 2, 2017
purchase SKIN (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 5 CRAZY WILD Stars***

This is definitely not my typical review style, but this is not your typical read either. I went back onto my Goodreads account to gather my thoughts for this review for my blog and honestly what I left on there is exactly the way I still feel and it pretty much was written immediately after I finished SKIN. I figured, why not stay true to my instantaneous reaction to this crazy ride. So I am just going to copy and paste it below. It is the shortest review but just keep in mind I was SCREAMING it – LOL.

FUCK ME SIDEWAYS… I AM MOMENTARILY SPEECHLESS.

ONE-CLICK THIS BAD-ASS BOOK. YES I AM SCREAMING!!! IT’S REAL LIFE YOU GUYS, REAL FUCKING LIFE… YOU CAN FIND YOURSELF IN IT OR SOMEONE YOU ARE CLOSE TO OR KNOW OF. LOVE IS HONEST, BEAUTIFUL, CRUEL AND SOMETIMES UGLY AS FUCK! IT MAY OR MAY NOT LAST A LIFETIME BUT YOUR FEELINGS WILL ALWAYS BE REAL AND TRUE TO YOU NO MATTER WHERE LIFE TAKES YOU!!

I thought 44 Chapters Chapters About 4 Men changed my reading experience but SKIN FUCKED ME OVER AND I AM NOT SORRY ABOUT IT!!!