Reviews

Throne of Truth (Truth & Lies, #2)

tot-teaser5

Throne of Truth (Truth & Lies, #2)
by: Pepper Winters
Release Date: February 28, 2017

*** PDL’s Rating: 4.5 ‘Truths’ Punches ***

I am going to keep Throne of Truth’s review pretty short to not spoil not only the concluding book to Penn and Elle’s story but to avoid the risk of unintentionally ruining Crown of Lies as well.

Throne of Truth picked up right where Crown of Lies left off… THANK GOODNESS for that! Questions were answered and all our concerns and the anxiety that Crown of Lies left us with were soothed by Throne of Truth. For those that had mixed emotions for Penn in book #1, let me ease your heart and mind – Throne of Truth allowed us to see through Penn’s eyes and feel with his heart and it will wash all your doubts away.

He was an angel and monster in one.

I personally felt that Crown of Lies was fast-paced, gritty and gripping; whereas, Throne of Truth was an angsty slow-burn that fills your heart and ends up completing you.

Thieves can become saints. Saints can become thieves. Most of us deserve a second chance.

Once again, Pepper Winters does no wrong on how she delivers dark romance. I am excited to see what she will have lined up next.

SKIN (A 44 Chapters Novel, #2)

picsart_02-08-11-23-43

Skin (A 44 Chapters Novel, #2)
by: BB Easton
Release Date: February 2, 2017
purchase SKIN (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 5 CRAZY WILD Stars***

This is definitely not my typical review style, but this is not your typical read either. I went back onto my Goodreads account to gather my thoughts for this review for my blog and honestly what I left on there is exactly the way I still feel and it pretty much was written immediately after I finished SKIN. I figured, why not stay true to my instantaneous reaction to this crazy ride. So I am just going to copy and paste it below. It is the shortest review but just keep in mind I was SCREAMING it – LOL.

FUCK ME SIDEWAYS… I AM MOMENTARILY SPEECHLESS.

ONE-CLICK THIS BAD-ASS BOOK. YES I AM SCREAMING!!! IT’S REAL LIFE YOU GUYS, REAL FUCKING LIFE… YOU CAN FIND YOURSELF IN IT OR SOMEONE YOU ARE CLOSE TO OR KNOW OF. LOVE IS HONEST, BEAUTIFUL, CRUEL AND SOMETIMES UGLY AS FUCK! IT MAY OR MAY NOT LAST A LIFETIME BUT YOUR FEELINGS WILL ALWAYS BE REAL AND TRUE TO YOU NO MATTER WHERE LIFE TAKES YOU!!

I thought 44 Chapters Chapters About 4 Men changed my reading experience but SKIN FUCKED ME OVER AND I AM NOT SORRY ABOUT IT!!!

Switch (Landry Family, #3)

picsart_02-15-06-48-53

Switch (Landry Family, #3)
by: Adriana Locke
Release February 20, 2017 (early release 2/19)
purchase SWITCH (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 5 ‘Grahammy’ Stars***

Do not judge me when I say that Graham has become my favorite of the Landry brothers. I was so sure my love for Linc will be a forever thing but Graham completely stomped all over that a little too quickly even for my liking – HA! I mean, I love them all, but Graham – oh my Graham! He had my heart skipping a few beats throughout his story.

For those that read Sway and Swing, you already know how stern Graham is out of all the brothers and it left us creating our own notions on what it is about him… I don’t like to brag but my thoughts were confirmed. Usually, when I am able to guess the story-line I tend to not enjoy the book as much, if at all. However, the author did an amazing job and I loved everything about it, from the writing down to the character building and it doesn’t hurt when I found myself already chuckling right from the start.

In Switch, we get the full-on of Graham and Mallory’s story but we also get loads of the other Landry boys as well and it pretty much makes me love them all over again and build my love up for Ford (the brother we hopefully will get to swoon over in the very near future). Their family bond is so heart-warming!!

What? I don’t give off the empathetic boss look?

Uh, no. you give off the asshole dictator look.

You will not understand why Graham is now my favorite Landry until you read Switch (I mean I feel like I am cheating on Linc for admitting this). I love Graham from the start of Switch but after a call he received and the way he handled it – I not only love him but ended up loving the fuck out of him. Yes, that hard – LOL. It just showed the type of man he is – and OH we all want that type of man in our life!

She came in here like the chorus of a song, blasting her way in my life and falling into my arms.

I fell in love twice in Switch, first with Graham and quickly thereafter with Mallory – she is a total kick-ass. I loved how she handled her own issues. I love her quick-wit and not let anyone step over her attitude. There were a few times I practically jumped off my sofa to cheer her on!! Like that overflowing toilet comment was the best comeback ever!! You will get a kick out of that scene, cause I sure did!

Although these books are standalones, I highly recommend to read them in order – otherwise you will miss out on a few ‘inside’ jokes that were written in Switch. It just gives it an extra punch if you have read Sway and Swing already.

Mastering The Art Of A Three Ring Circus (Wild, #2)

picsart_01-26-09-06-43

Mastering The Art of a Three Ring Circus (Wild, #2)
by: A. Wilding Wells
Release Date: February 1st, 2017
purchase MTAOATRC (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 6 Awe-Struck Stars (like WHOA)***

I have mentioned this before and apparently it hasn’t changed since then. When I fall in love with a book, I tend to not be able to write a review for it. I get tongue-tied and become speechless. Mastering The Art Of A Three Ring Circus will end up without a full length review because it’s my 6 Awestruck Stars read of 2017!That alone says a crap load because if I am lucky enough, I may have only a handful of 6 Stars read in a year time span!!

… you taste like sweet and summer and woman. And, I hope to fucking hell, my future.

What makes Mastering The Art Of A Three Ring Circus so unique is the combination of the author’s writing style and writing personality (that’s the best way I can think of to express it). A. Wilding Wells managed to make all her stories undeniably unique and her characters have always been imperfectly-perfect that I have always found myself fall head-over-heels for them. I have loved every book written by this author and I hate to say it, but Mastering The Art Of A Three Ring Circus has become my special favorite written by her. During and after reading this crazy-extraordinary story, the author made me feel as if she has written this book especially for me. I loved every single thing about it. From the very first to the very last word.

Press your heart to mine. Make me believe in magic and fire and innocence. Tell me the chaos in my mind and heart is real.

I cannot express the amount of love I have for this book, but please give it a chance. You will not regret it. As a matter of fact, I suspect you will reach out and thank me later! 😉

Possession (Avenue Ink Series, #1)

picsart_02-07-08-24-18

Possession (Avenue Ink Series, #1)
by: A.M. Johnson
Release Date: February 16, 2017 (early release 2/15)
purchase POSSESSION (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 6 ‘I AM’ Stars (like WHOA)***

I originally rated this as a 5 Stars (Loved) but as I was writing the review, I so much more than loved this book – this story took my breath away… so it’s more like a “like WHOA!”

Okay, I know it’s only February of this year but I was fortunate enough to already have read a handful of books that I am holding dear to my heart. Each one of them stirred a different part of me that made me fall in love with it for its very own reason.

Possession is truly a unique one for me personally; not in the sense that I have personal experience with the story but it impacted me in a very special way. I felt so much sorrow reading this book from the beginning to the end, yet at the same time I was overflowed with hope and love. Yes, this story raised many complicated emotions within me all at once. However, it cannot be described as a roller coaster ride, it’s slow and steady but strong feelings were evoked within me like you cannot believe! I cannot seem to get my thoughts together on this one to bring forth my love for the story the way it deserves!!

Okay, let’s get to the point – the writing is impeccable to say the least. The storyline is like no other (not for me anyway) and the characters were to die for! Declan has driven a knife through my heart and twisted it as he removed it – this may sound crazy, but I mean that in a good way. I never felt so emotionally run over as I did with Dex. I was in pain when he was hurting and both my stomach and heart were in knots for what he was going through.

The author managed to make me feel not only as I am part of the characters’ world but I was in their shoes. I am totally emotionally attached to Declan and Paige’s story like madness. I cannot get over it!!!

I am beyond thrilled that this is a series, because Dex’s family has become my family and family is life damnit!! I DEMAND YOU ALL to read this book. PLEASE read this book!! When you do, just know Dex is mine and so is Liam and Kieran for that matter – oh wait, I just called them my family, soooo… that’s kind of gross, huh? As you can see my love for this book and my emotionally confused state has taken on to a whole new level!!!

Vicious (Sinners of Saint, #1)

viciousteaser
Title: Vicious (Sinners of Saints, #1)
Author: L.J. Shen
Release Date: December 27th, 2016
purchase VICIOUS (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 5 A-Hole Stars***

I love the shit out of this book. Vicious is officially the King of Asshole and I love him to death!

Before I get into it, let it be known that VICIOUS is a one-click, must read book like… NOW!

I was unable to put it down and read it in one-sitting. The author’s words were just as addictive as the story line. Baron aka Vicious is the KING of asshole. If you think you have fallen for an asshole before, you haven’t felt anything yet until you meet Vicious.

The story in alternating between past and present where readers will be able to further dive into the reasoning behind each action of each character. If you want to love those that deserves it, loathe the evil bitches and empathize with those that you feel for – you will have the opportunity to do all that and more reading this crazy of a ride book.

I don’t want to give too much away (you can get a really good idea of what the story entails with the blurb), but just trust me – this is a must read and if you haven’t already done so, what the hell are you waiting for?! GO FOR IT – you will NOT regret it! Don’t even think the blurb is giving too much away either, it barely grazed the surface of this crazy-twisted story.

Enjoy the ride! I am dying for book #2!!

Whispers and the Roars

whispers_tour

Title: Whispers and the Roars
Author: K. Webster
Release Date: December 6th, 2016
purchase WHISPERS and the ROARS (Amazon)

***PDL’s Rating: 5 Stars (Loved)***

I am going to keep my review for Whispers and the Roars short due to not wanting to spoil the story. Let’s just say this may hit very close to home for some readers and even if it doesn’t it will make you feel so much in the most unexpected ways. This story took a turn I didn’t fully expect and WOW oh WOW – it was unbelievably touching in ways that I can’t say without spoiling. Just know that you are in for a ride. It’s not a happy one, but if you stick it through to the end – I promise you it will be worth that torment you felt throughout the story.

This is what unconditional love is. It doesn’t have to be pretty all the time, it could even be ugly most of the time but the times that are good overshadows the bad versus the other way around. It’s complicated. It’s just the reality of it. But to stick it through and be someone’s strength even when it’s not wanted but recognizing that it is needed… gosh I don’t want to say more because this story is one you need to go in blind.

Just know this became one of my top 2016 reads.